Using the Admin Tab

Users Section

By default the users section will display all active user accounts present on your homeserver, listing their Matrix ID followed by their Display Name and whether the user is a Synapse Admin.

Navigating

Users will be displayed in a list, defaulting to a maximum of 10 users per page, you can show more users per page using the drop found at the bottom left of the list.

To navigate between pages, you can use the page navigation options found at the bottom right of the list.

Sorting and Filtering

The default view of users can be adjusted using the available sorting and filtering options.

To sort, select the sort button and select how users should be organised, options include by Matrix ID (A-Z or Z-A), by Display Name (A-Z or Z-A) and displaying Admins first.

To search for users specifically, you can use the filter search box found above the list of users. Simply enter your search term and the list will be filtered for matches.

By default a number of account types are excluded from the list of users, these are deactivated accounts, guest accounts, support accounts and bot accounts. You can include these accounts by selecting the filter button then choosing the appropriate option.

To remove these includes, you can click the 'x' icon next to the filter added just above the list view.

Adding Users

You can add user accounts manually by clicking the Add button found at the top right of the admin interface. This will take you to a page where you can register a new Synapse user.

Note, if your homeserver has a Terms of Service, users added in this way will need to accept those terms after logging in. This differs from the usual flow of users who create their account themselves, accepting the terms during the sign up process.

Once any additional user/s have been added, simply click the 'Back to people list' button to return to the user list.

Adding a single user

Provide the required username of the new user, if the user should be made a Synapse admin you should check the 'Make new user server admin' checkbox, then press the Add button. A new user will be added and their password will appear on screen.

Adding multiple users at once

You are also able to import bulk users at once, either click the username,email,phone,displayname,password button, or manually create a csv file with those headings. Only the username is required and if the password is left blank, a random one will be generated. The CSV should be limited to no more than 30MB, you can see an example below:

username,email,phone,displayname,password
grover.penner,,,Grover Penner,grover
titus.allison,,,Titus Allison,titus
martie.dean,,,Martie Dean,martie
rachyl.dpears,,,Rachyl Spears,rachyl
imogen.bates,,,Imogen Bates,imogen

Either drag the CSV file into the window, or using the 'Choose file' button and press 'Import' to create the users. You will receive confirmation the users have been created.

Managing Users

You can manage an existing user by clicking on their account from the user list. You will then be presented with a view where you can manage the account.

Note, you can quickly copy the accounts Matrix ID by clicking on it, you will see a tooltip confirm the ID has been copied.

You can make a user a Synapse admin by checking the 'Admin' checkbox found to the right of the Matrix ID. Clicking this checkbox will cause a confirmation prompt to appear to confirm the action.

Note, this does not currently give any additional permissions in Element clients. It grants permission to use the Synapse Admin API

You can edit the users' existing Display Name by clicking the 'edit' button found following their existing Display Name, and you can reset the users' password by clicking the 'Reset' button.

From this view you can also see when a user was last logged in and a list of their currently active devices (i.e. sessions).

Finally you are also able to manually deactivate the account by clicking the 'Deactivate account' button, this will cause a confirmation prompt to appear to confirm the action.

Note, this action will remove active access tokens, reset the password, and delete third-party IDs (to prevent the user requesting a password reset). It will also mark the user as GDPR-erased (stopping their data from being distributed further, and deleting it entirely if there are no other references to it).

Rooms Section